All major trade unions of Visakhapatnam Steel Plant have decided to set up a joint action committee (JAC) to launch an agitation against disinvestment of Rashtriya Ispat Nigam Limited.

Union leaders D. Adinarayana (AITUC), Mantri Rajasekhar (INTUC), V. Dhanaraju and N. Rama Rao (CITU), Rama Raju (BMS), Sadhu Reddy (HMS), B. Paydiraju (TNTUC) and others attended. They decided to serve a strike notice for one-day after holding demonstrations at the two main gates of the VSP on September 8 – the day the Centre will study the presentations made by merchant bankers for 10 per cent disinvestment of the government's shares.

The unions would also fax representations to the Union Ministers, Chief Minister, and others to drop the disinvestment plan, Visakha Steel Workers' Union president D. Adinarayana said.

During the meeting with union leaders here on Monday, the top management of the company said the Centre had taken a policy decision to divest of the equity up to 10 per cent to raise the value of the shares.

More In: Visakhapatnam