Telugu Desam party would try to attract service-mined youth, educated youth particularly to join the party to strengthen itself, senior party leader Ch. Ayyanna Patrudu said after taking charge as convenor of party’s ad-hoc committee for Visakhapatnam here on Saturday.

A large number of party leaders, workers and supporters attended the function held at the party’s office, in which a 22-member ad-hoc committee took charge. The committee consisted of representatives from the city and district. Till now TDP has separate units for urban and rural wings and the high command decided to have one unit for a district all over the State.

Mr. Ayyanna Patrudu said he and others would keep the party united and bring back its past glory. He said he was fortunate to be appointed as convenor of the ad-hoc committee and take the party forward in the district by seeking advice from the senior leaders. Himself and the other members of the ad-hoc committee would not let down party president N. Chandrababu Naidu who had a lot of faith in them and work hard to make the party strong. Sincere and hard-working party workers would be rewarded. Mandal-level committee would be formed soon, he said.

Party’s MLAs, several senior leaders and former MLAs, Corporators, leaders of different wings wished success to the ad-hoc committee and assured it of their support. State vice-president and former Minister Bandaru Satyanarayana Murthy said that it was unfortunate that some people from outside the district were trying to dominate the party affairs in the district. Mr. Satyanarayana Murthy wanted the district leaders and workers not to allow outsiders and said that if an issue could not be resolved, it should be taken straight to Mr. Chandrababu Naidu. Former MLA Chengala Venkata Rao said Mr. Patrudu was a dashing and adventurous leader and the party would prosper under his leadership.

State organising secretary and former urban unit president Kona Tata Rao presided. MLAs V. Ramakrishna Babu, K.S.N. Raju, Ramu Naidu, Siveri Soma, former Minister M. Manikumari, former MLA R.S.D.P.A.N. Raju, leaders M. Sundaram Patrudu, Vasupalli Ganesh Kumar, Sobha Hymavathi, Gudivada Nagamani, N. Anjaneya Raju, GVMC Floor Leader Nalluri Bhaskara Rao, and others spoke.

More In: Visakhapatnam