Suspense over the finalisation of names of constituencies that have been doing the rounds as allotted to the BJP after a tie-up with TDP continues with differences among both the party men over the constituencies, particularly the Lok Sabha seats.

Both the parties have not made any official announcement on the names of constituencies to be shared.

Of the five Lok Sabha and 15 Assembly seats, allotment of two Lok Sabha - Visakhapatnam and Araku and two Assembly seats - Visakhapatnam North and Paderu - to BJP said to have figured prominently in the discussions.

The name of YSRCP honorary president Y.S. Vijayamma has now emerged as a likely nominee from Visakhapatnam Lok Sabha. Earlier, her daughter Sharmila and party leader Y.V. Subba Reddy prominently figured.

If that is the case, party leadership is seriously considering the implications of parting with the Visakhapatnam Lok Sabha seat as it may impact on the entire district, say TDP sources. With some discontent among party cadres in Krishna and East Godavari districts also over the seats to BJP, TDP may consider the entire issue afresh.

If it decides to retain Visakhapatnam Lok Sabha, Ganta Srinivasa Rao is likely to be the nominee, it is learnt. Considering the caste equations, TDP has to field nominees for Anakapalle Lok Sabha and Assembly constituencies.

But if BJP gets Vizag Lok Sabha, Mr. Srinivasa Rao may move over to Bhimili Assembly constituency. ‘Avanthi’ Srinivasa Rao and Panchakarla Rameshbabu may be fielded from Anakapalle Lok Sabha and Assembly constituencies.

Leaders unhappy

However, senior party leaders express surprise over the allotment of the Lok Sabha as well as Assembly constituencies in the district. The cadres will have no motivation to work for the Assembly constituencies and it will have impact on Lok Sabha seats as well, says a senior party leader.

More In: Visakhapatnam