Sunkari Giribabu elected Vice-President of the bank

Taking all measures beneficial to the farmers and other sections is his first priority, said U. Sukumar Varma after taking charge as president of the District Cooperative Central Bank on Tuesday.

Earlier Mr. Varma and Sunkari Giribabu were unanimously elected president and vice-president respectively of the DCCB.

Increasing deposits from the present Rs. 300 crore to Rs. 500 crore and the turnover from Rs. 670 crore to Rs. 1,000 crore during the next three years, extending banking facilities by providing RTGS, NEFT and ATM, opening new branches, providing more gold loans, taking special measures to realise bad debts and increasing recovery were among the priority list, Mr. Sukumar Varma, who is in his late 20s and the youngest president of DCCB, said.

His father and Elamanchili MLA U.V. Ramana Murthy Raju, planned and executed a strategy to see Mr. Varma elected president of DCCB.

Before the election of president and vice-president was held, vacancies of directors which could not be filled up through election due to non-availability of eligible candidates from the designated reserved categories or rejection of nomination were filled by co-opting PACS presidents. Y. Chinnabbai, K. Chiranjeevi Rao, G. China Kondadu, M. Appa Rao and G. Uma Maheswara Rao.

After the election, Minister for Investments and Infrastructure Ganta Srinivasa Rao came to the DCCB office and congratulated the new president, vice-president and directors and also the president and vice-president of District Cooperative Marketing Society (DCMS) Mukka Mahalakshmi Naidu and Ayinampudi Bangarraju respectively, who were elected in the election held at Anakapalle earlier in the day.

Mr. Srinivasa Rao said the Congress owed its success in both DCCB and DCMS to the farmers and dedicated the victory to them. The pro-farmer policies and programmes of the State government were responsible for the big win of the Congress in this elections and the party would face the elections to the local bodies, for which the Supreme Court has given the green signal, with the same spirit and enthusiasm, he said.

MLC D.S.N. Raju and MLAs M. Srinivasa Rao, P. Ramesh Babu, Bolam Mutyala Papa and Ch. Venkatramaiah were present.

The election and taking over ceremony of the new DCCB president was marred when Mr. Ramana Murthy Raju let out his anger at a director who reached the DCCB office much later after the election was completed. As soon as he saw the director, Mr. Raju shouted at him and the stunned director quickly left the place. The behaviour of the MLA stunned those present.


Kannababu group sweeps pollsFebruary 19, 2013

More In: Visakhapatnam