Candidates remain in the fray in four segments against party's wishes

With TDP sticking to its nominee at Elamanchili and changing at Araku in the last-minute, it faces trouble from rebels in both the Assembly constituencies.

At Araku, the party initially announced the name of former MLA Kumbha Ravibabu, who had joined TDP quitting YSRCP,.

However, it suddenly changed the candidature of Mr. Ravibabu in preference to incumbent MLA Siveri Soma.

“Even in the morning I had the B-form with me and came to file the nomination with 15,000 supporters,” Mr. Ravibabu who filed the nomination as an independent said.

Mr. Ravibabu, who feels let down said he was offered Araku Lok Sabha seat when he joined TDP. But to accommodate Bhanj Deo from Saluru, they shifted G. Sandhya Rani to Araku Lok Sabha. Citing the changes, he was asked to contest from Araku Assembly.

However, since Saturday morning party leaders had begun insisting that Mr. Ravibabu should not file the nomination using the B-form in view of the pressure from the local MLA. Mr. Ravibabu said he strengthened the TDP by joining it along with 64 sarpanches.

There were discussions with party leaders on Sunday also.

“But I have decided to remain in the contest,” he told The Hindu over phone.

At Paderu too, a seat given to BJP as part of the alliance, four nominations were filed by TDP aspirants apart from BJP candidate Lokula Gandhi.

At Elamanchili, S. Vijay Kumar, who was denied party ticket to accommodate Pendurti MLA P. Rameshbabu, filed the nomination as an independent.

Kona Tata Rao, who unsuccessfully aspired to the Gajuwaka Assembly ticket, dropped his proposal to file nomination as independent after the party president spoke to him. He said he would participate in the campaign only after meeting Mr.Chandrababu Naidu.

At Bheemunipatnam, an aspirant for TDP ticket, Anita Sakuru is in fray as independent.