With TDP announcing most of the nominees for the Assembly constituencies in the district, unsuccessful aspirants are likely to file nominations as rebels.

At Elamanchili, Sundarapu Vijay Kumar, party in charge of the constituency for two years, who was denied the ticket thought of filing the nomination in the afternoon. But later he put off the proposal hoping the high command would respond in his favour and sat on an indefinite fast at the Railway Station Road at Elamanchili. His supporters went on a protest and burnt furniture at the party office on Sunday when they came know that Pendurti MLA P. Rameshbabu, who joined the party recently along with former minister Ganta Srinivasa Rao, is being allotted the ticket.

The former minister himself seems to have had his way getting the nomination from Bheemunipatnam constituency shifting his associate Muttamsetty Srinivsa Rao from there to Anakapalle as Lok Sabha candidate. But he faces trouble from Anita Sakuru who has unsuccessfully aspired for TDP ticket.

She is firm on contesting and defeating the former minister. “I want to expose the manner in which he is changing parties and constituencies and his non-committal and non-accountable politics,” she says. She is filing her nomination as an independent on Wednesday.

At a press conference here, the former minister hoped that they would understand the situation in the long-term interest of the party. They worked hard for the party during the last few years and were disappointed. He hoped they would soon realise and work for the victory of the alliance.

At Gajuwaka also, former corporator Kona Tata Rao feels slighted as the party did not take him into confidence while deciding on the nomination of Palla Srinivasa Rao. After being in the party for a long time and working hard all these year, he says he is not even told why he is being denied nomination. On Tuesday, he held a meeting with his supporters. Unless the party convinces him by the time nominations close, he is ready to file papers as independent.

In Visakhapatnam North, however, party leaders seem to have reconciled themselves to the seat being allotted to BJP. “The party is not going back on its decision and the South constituency can’t be given to BJP as it will affect fishermen votes. The party leadership says that Yadava community is being represented in Gajuwaka,” said a party leader.

Keywords: RebelsTDPBJP alianceVisakhapatnam