Balamohan Das tells non-political JAC members to protest in a peaceful manner

Rallies and protests continued at various places in the city on Saturday also against bifurcation of the State.

An office of the Joint Action Committee (non-political) was inaugurated at the NGO’s Home at the Collectorate by the Chairman of the JAC (Non-Political) V. Balamohan Das.

JAC general secretary Vishnukumar Raju, vice-chairmen K. Ravi, Surappadu and L.V. Raghava Rao and K. Eswar Rao, members K. Adibabu, D.V.R.Murthy, A. Krishna Reddy, Vijayashekar, P.L.K.Murthy, Lata Das and P.S.N. Murthy were among those who participated.

Prof. Balamohan Das favoured intensification of the agitation but appealed to the members to conduct their protests in a peaceful manner. He appealed to all the different JACs’ and units participating in the Samaikyandhra movement to join hands and intensify the stir. This will have a good impact to revert back the decision of the Congress Working Committee.

The JAC (Non-Political) members met Vamsi Krishna Yadav and Chokkakula Venkata Rao of YSR Congress Party and Vasupalli Ganesh Kumar of Telugu Desam Party and sought their co-operation for the Samaikyandhra agitation, which has originated from the hearts of common people.

They reiterated that this was a non-political JAC, but seeks the whole-hearted support from each and every public representative to stand up to the expectations of the people of this region.

Photo and Videographers Association members took out a rally from Jagadamba junction to the Gandhi statue at Asilametta to protest against bifurcation. They raised slogans in support of Samaikyandhra.

Lawyers in Visakhapatnam will boycott courts till August 16. The future course of action will be decided at a meeting to be held at Rajahmundry on August 17.

Cricket players of Andhra University have announced their decision to take out a rally in support of Samaikyandhra on Sunday. The rally would begin at the AU Engineering College ground at 9 a.m. and pass through Maddilapalem, Satyam junction, Rama Talkies and Swarnabharathi stadium before concluding at the Gandhi statue near the Central Administrative Building of Andhra University, according to Bandaru Sagar, president Amazing Stars Cricket Team.

Government doctors, nurses, ministerial staff and Class-IV employees of King George Hospital and other hospitals, Andhra Medical College and private doctors staged a dharna, under the aegis of AMC/KGH JAC at the KGH Main Gate on Saturday.

AP Government Doctors Association state secretary (Andhra region) P. Shyam Sundar described the present agitation against bifurcation as a ‘mass movement’ and appealed to political leaders to keep away from peoples protest. He suggested that instead the people’s representatives could agitate against the decision of their party high command and try to get a favourable decision for keeping the state united.

Dr. Shyam Sundar said that the agitation would be intensified from Monday.

A rally was taken out by around 800 persons, on the banner of Visakha Autonagar Small Scale Industrialists Welfare Association to protest against the announcement on bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh. The rally which commenced at Autonagar concluded at Gajuwaka, where a memorandum was submitted to the Tehsildar against bifurcation of the State.

A meeting of the Uttarandhra Journalists Samithi was held on Saturday. The meeting decided that journalists should honour the sentiments of the people of Seemandhra region by supporting the cause of Samaikyandhra.

The meeting elected senior journalist V.V. Ramana Murthy as convener of the Uttarandhra Districts Journalists Steering Committee. The others members of the executive would be appointed soon. Senior Journalist S.S. Shiva Shankar coordinated the meeting.

Senior journalists P.N.S.S.V. Prasad (Vizianagaram), R. Nagaraj Patnaik, Dadi Ravi Kumar, L.G. Naidu, Ganta Swamy, journalists union representatives Ramu, Ramachandra Rao, PUS Bhaskar, P. Satyanarayana, Anand and Krishna Rao were among those who attended.

Visakhapatnam Cable Operators Welfare Association and all MSOs in the city protested against the CWC decision to form a separate State of Telangana. Visakhapatnam East MLA Velagapudi Ramakrishna and YSRCP convener Vamsi Krishna Srinivas extended their support by bathing statue of Mahatma Gandhi with milk.