Raju elected president of VDCA

File photo of D.V. Subba Rao (second from left) with VDCA president P. Vishnu Kumar Raju. Photo: K.R. Deepak   | Photo Credit: K_R_DEEPAK


D.V. Subba Rao loses the election by a margin of three votes

The keenness of the contest in the election of office-bearers of the Visakhapatnam District Cricket Association (VDCA) held here on Friday was reflected in the results. Vice-president of VDCA and ACA P. Vishnu Kumar Raju edged out D.V. Subba Rao 20-17 for the post of president. Mr. Raju was also elected one of the seven vice-presidents. D. Prasada Rao was elected treasurer this time also.

The vote cast by Visakhapatnam C.C. was kept in abeyance as two persons came to vote. Election officer S. Appa Rao Babu said he would give his findings on the vote to the VDCA later.

After the results were announced at the VDCA general body meeting, both Mr. Subba Rao and Mr. Raju said the run up to the elections should not reflect on the functioning of the VDCA in future and it would go about its business as one unit and a family to take the game to greater heights.

Secretary K. Parthasaradhi proposed that the VDCA should co-opt Mr. Subba Rao as one of its patrons, considering the service he had done to the VDCA and the game and to utilise his vast experience. This was accepted by Mr. Subba Rao.

While congratulating Mr. Raju and others on their success in the elections, Mr. Subba Rao said he would continue to cooperate and extend whatever help they needed.

“There are no regrets for losing the election but the little worry is that I have not been able to win your love,” he said. He was a sportsman and would accept the defeat in all humility. If he could win the ACA elections he would continue to work for the game and he did not, he would retire, Mr. Subba Rao said. There should not be a reprisal or bickering, he said and advised Vice-president P.R. Narayanaswami and Mr. Parthasardhi to bury their differences and work for the good of VDCA. He had no intention to bring a divide in VDCA, he said.

‘No division'

Mr. Vishnu Kumar Raju said it was the duty of the new body to fulfil the ambitions of Mr. Subba Rao. The entire effort was to make the VDCA strong. There was no division in the VDCA and all should work towards making it the strongest unit in ACA, Mr. Raju said.

VDCA needed Mr. Subba Rao's guidance, support, and cooperation and it was expecting a lot from him, Mr. Raju said.

Mr. Narayanaswami said Mr. Subba Rao headed the family of VDCA and it should work towards achieving his goals like getting Test status for the city and more ODIs and IPLs.

The following were elected office-bearers for 2011-14: president: P. Vishnu Kumar Raju; vice-presidents: S.S.R.K. Prasad (30 votes), D.S. Varma, D. Sanjiv (29 each), P.R. Narayanaswami (27), P. Vishnu Kumar Raju (26), Krupa Dan Kumar (23), and T.S.R. Prasad (22); secretary: K. Parthasaradhi (26); joint-secretaries: J.K.M. Raju (34), A.P. Naidu (28), and P. Bhogendra Babu (26); treasurer: D. Prasada Rao (unanimously elected); executive committee members: VPSC (34), Visakhapatnam Steel Plant, Vizag Blues and Victoria C.C. (31 each), H.S.R.C. and Gajuwaka Greens (30) and County C.C. (26).

Please Wait while comments are loading...
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jun 23, 2017 4:05:57 PM |