G.V.V.S. Murthy and S.S. Varma on Friday took over as Additional Commissioner General and Finance of GVMC respectively.

This followed the transfer of K. Ramesh as Regional Joint Director at Rajahmundry and P. Poornachandra Rao as Municipal Commissioner, Kakinada.

Mr. Murthy and Mr. Varma were earlier Selection Grade Commissioners at Bhimavaram and Chittoor respectively.

The posts were given to them after reporting here to Municipal Commissioner M V Satyanarayana.

EC norm

The transfer of the officials was done following the Election Commission norm that officials working for three years in a post should be shifted prior to elections.

Earlier in the week, P. M. Satyaveni has taken over as Deputy Commissioner (Revenue) and V. Ravindra and Ch. Naga Narasimha Rao as commissioners of Zone II and IV respectively.

This follows the transfer of DCR R. Somannarayana to Vizianagaram as Municipal Commissioner and repatriation of Srirama Murthy and J. Vijayalakshmi to their parent departments of Co-operation and Planning.

The new DCR was earlier Grade I Commissioner at Kakinada and Mr. Rao also held the same rank at Tadepalligudem. Mr. Ravindra was Grade II commissioner at Rajahmundry.

More In: Visakhapatnam