Rich tributes were paid to former Andhra Ranji captain R.V.V.K. Prasad at a meeting organised to present the fifth annual RVVK Prasad memorial awards to promising youngsters from the district, at the ACA-VDCA stadium here on Wednesday.

Managing trustee of RVVK Prasad Memorial Cricket Trust, former minister P. Ashok Gajapathi Raju, who is also a former president of ACA recalled the late Prasad’s contribution towards promotion of the game and development of the ACA-VDCA stadium.

President of Andhra Cricket Association D.V. Subba Rao and a trustee of the RVVK memorial trust spoke about Sir Vizzy of Vizianagaram and the development of cricket in Andhra area. Another trustee and vice-president of VDCA P.R. Narayanaswami said the late Prasad supported several young and talented cricketers and shaped their career.

R. V. Chandramouli Prasad, trustee and son of the late Mr. Prasad proposed a vote of thanks.

Cash awards of Rs. 10,000 each were presented to Indian senior woman and under-19 player V. Sneha Deepthi; State senior and under-19 player K. Jyothi; girls under-16 player M. Durga; South Zone (Deodhar trophy) and under-19 player K.S. Bharat; State under-19 player Ricky Bhui; under-16 players G. Manish and Md. Anwar Raza and under-14 player Ch. Jogesh.