1.26 lakh new voters enrolled in the district from October to January, says Collector

District Judge V. Venkata Prasad has called upon the youth exercise their franchise and vote with a sense of responsibility.

Participating in ‘National Voters Day’ celebration here on Friday, he said the destiny of the nation was in the hands of the youth. The right to vote should be utilised with a sense of responsibility. When the educated and enlightened does not vote, goonda elements are manipulating the election process and coming to power and looting national resources.

The district judge said the country had won independence due to the sacrifice of many leaders but regrettably the nation was not delivering goods due to the people’s apathy towards their right to vote. IAS, IPS, and judicial officers do not make laws but it is the people’s representatives who frame laws in a democracy. He advised the people to realise their power to bring down a government which is not delivering goods.

District Collector V.Seshadri described Voter’s Day as a celebration of democracy. Democracy will be vibrant when the voting percentage is cent per cent. The rights and duties are the two sides of the same coin in a democracy. The right to vote is coupled with voting with responsibility. The district currently has 1,932 polling stations. He said from October to January 1.26 lakh new voters had been enrolled in the district and of them 26,000 were youth.

Joint Collector Praveen Kumar expressed concern over low voting percentage in urban areas. GVMC Commissioner M.V.Satyanarayana said governments were being elected with 30 per cent of votes resulting in improper representation of people in governance.

Voter’s Day celebrated

Students of GITAM University celebrated Voter’s Day on the university campus. Students of different colleges, faculty members, principals, along with NCC cadets and NSS volunteers took out an awareness rally carrying placards and banners underlining the importance of the day. The rally was flagged off by Vice-Chancellor G. Subrahmanyam. Pro Vice-Chancellor D. Harinarayana, Registrar M. Potharaju, principals Y. Satyanarayana, K. Sivaramakrishna, N. Lakshmanadas, P. Suresh, K. Lakshmiprasad, NSS officer Nageswara Rao, student affairs director K. Veerabhadram and others participated in the programme.

More In: Visakhapatnam