The alliance between BJP and TDP seems to have run into rough weather with the two parties at loggerheads over some seats.

With reports that some nominations were filed in the seats allotted to BJP the situation has turned serious and the BJP is reportedly rushing its national leader to hold parleys with TDP.

BJP Andhra Pradesh president and nominee for Visakhapatnam Lok Sabha K. Haribabu admits that there are differences over four, five Assembly seats. The two parties will discuss the issue and come out with a solution, he says. “As a part of resolving the issue, there may be some dramatic changes,” he told The Hindu here on Thursday. He is hopeful of an amicable solution but “TDP has to be reasonable.”

Mr. Hariababu denied that there was any difference over the choice of nominees for the Lok Sabha seats, including Narsapur and Rajampeta which were allotted to BJP as a part of alliance. Former Union Minister D. Purandeswari, who represented Visakhapatnam, is named as the BJP candidate from Rajampeta.

At Narsapur, Gokaraju Gangaraju is the BJP nominee while Raghurama Krishnam Raju is also a strong contender.

Rajahmundry Urban is allotted to BJP where TDP senior leader G. Butchaiah Chowdary is a strong contender for the seat. TDP is pressing for a swap with Rajahmundry Rural. In Srikakulam district, TDP MP nominee K. Ramamohan Naidu is firm on retaining Ichchapuram.

BJP has been allotted four Lok Sabha and 14 Assembly seats in the Seemandhra as a part of the alliance.


Gokaraju tries to feel voters’ pulseApril 25, 2014

More In: Visakhapatnam