Next Story

Big win for TDP in Vizag district


The Telugu Desam Party has recorded emphatic victory in the two municipalities in the district.

In the results announced on Monday, The TDP won the newly-formed Narsipatnam and Elamanchili municipalities. At Narsipatnam, the TDP won 18 wards, far outnumbering YSRCP’s six. Congress, CPI and an independent won one ward each. Anitha, wife of former minister and Telugu Desam Party’s polit bureau member Ch. Ayyanna Patrudu’s younger brother and who is in the race for the chairperson post won from the ward 25 by getting 784 votes against L. Sri Saradha’s 236.

The highest majority of 753 votes went to YSRCP’s G. Adilakshmi (1112) against TDP’s V. Demudu’s (359) in Ward 16. At Elamanchili, the TDP scored quite an impressive victory winning 21 of the 24 wards leaving a mere three to YSRCP. The 21 include the unanimous election of the chairperson nominee Pilla Rama Kumari.

In some of the wards the victory margins were as low as three and four. In Ward 19, TDP’s B. Adiseshu polling 525 votes won with a margin of three votes against Rai Bhargavi of YSRCP. In Ward 13, TDP’s Pitta Srinivas scraped through with four votes polling 437 votes against the YSRCP nominee. The highest majority of 762 votes was in Ward 20 where S. Seshalakshmi of TDP polled 958 votes against YSRCP nominee’s 196.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | May 23, 2018 3:25:45 PM |