Farmers who have done extremely well in ensuring better yield and the field level officials who helped them were felicitated with awards at the Sankranti Puraskaram function conducted by the district administration here on Sunday.

Advice to officials

Minister for Tribal Welfare P. Balaraju, who gave away the awards, advised the field level officials to popularise low-cost technologies for ensuring more productivity.

Mr. Balaraju said that farmers should be encouraged for undertaking study tours to other areas with the government support so as to help them acquire knowledge and enhance their skills.

Anakapalle MP Sabbam Hari, District Collector J. Syamala Rao,MLC B. Suryanarayana Raju, Additional Joint Collector S. Satyanarayana, Joint Director of Agriculture Girija Shankar and others spoke.

Award winners

Following is the list of award winners: (Agriculture Department) Tomarolu Appala Naidu (paddy), Sunkari Appanna (rajma), Kari Satya Rao (sesamum), Kuracha Venkata Ramana (groundnut), K. Venkata Krishna Rao (chillies) and R. Nani Babu (tobacco). G. Govinda Rao of V. Madugula was declared as the best ‘Adarsha Rythu.’

R. Sambasiva Rao, K.V. Ramprasad and M.S. Prakasa Rao from Agriculture Department were given awards for being best field level officers.

In animal husbandry category, P.V.S. Verma was declared as best dairy farmer, Gaddam Varahalu as best sheep grower, Meka Nageswara Rao as best poultry farmer, V. Chitti Naidu and M. Ch. Rama Naidu as best field officers.

V. Gurunadha Rao got best mango grower award in horticulture category. Awards were also given to Doddi Prakasha Rao for growing papaya, V. Veeramma for turmeric, Y. Appa Rao (oilpalm) and V. Radhakrishna as a progressive horticulture officer.

In micro irrigation, B. Nageswara Rao and M.M. Naidu were adjudged best farmers and in fisheries category, K. Narayana Murthy Raju and N. Nirmala Kumari were given awards for being best shrimp farmer and best field officer. T. Varahala Babu was felicitated for sugar output and B. Govinda Rao as best farmer and A. Suresh, field officer, for power conservation.

Y. Hanumantha Rao of Andhra Bank and K. Yeru Naidu of DCCB were given awards for rendering good service to farmers.

More In: Visakhapatnam