They brave the morning chill to participate in the event

The morning chill was just beginning to drop and the Ring Road is already brimming with people. Boy and girls, men and women and senior citizens, dressed in T-shirts and tracks, appeared keyed up for the 10K walking competitions.

The excitement was infectious and the atmosphere was electric with high decibel music and cheer leaders on the stage exhorting the men and women to get ready for the race.

As an array of fireworks lit up the morning sky, there was buzz around the town.

The 9th edition of 10K walking competitions organized by the NRI Educational Academy in partnership with a slew of sponsors was held on Sunday. Participants in the competitions were divided into four categories based on their ages.

The competition had its share of fun, character and intense competition.

Secretary of NRI Educational Institutions, Alapati Rajendra Prasad encouraged the participants. CEO Patibandla Nageswara Rao and ex cricketer MSK Prasad, Municipal Commissioner K. Sudhakar, Additional Commissioner P. Srinivasulu, CPI district secretary Muppala Nageswara Rao and CPM district secretary D. Rama Devi were present.

The competitions began from the Indian Springs School on the Ring Road, with walkers passing by Koretipadu, Arundelpet RoB, Hindu College junction, Kankaragunta ROB. Hanumayya Company and back to the starting point.

The highlight of the competitions was the large turnout of youngsters, most of them college students, who appeared keyed up for the race.

The following are the winners- Boys- K. Sriram, V. Demudu Naidu and D. Mahesh ((below 15 years), M. Ashoka Chakravarthy, K. Anji Naik and Hanumanth (16-25 years), G. Mandhara Babu, J. Kondalu and Sk. Baba (26-45 years), Y.V Narayana, K. Rajasekhar Babu, P. Balakotaiah (46-60 years).

In the women’s category, Ch. Prathima, S. Madhavi and S. Prameela bagged the first three slots in the under 15 years category, K. Sravani, N. Ashritha and R. Navya (16-25 years), K. Lakshmi, M. Rama Devi and M. Sesha Ratnam (26-45 years) and D. Mohini, Y. Krishnaveni and Sk. Saidabi (46-60 years)

Winners of the first three places were given away cash awards of Rs.3,000, Rs.2,000 and Rs.1,000 respectively.

More In: Vijayawada