Vanukuri Srinivas Reddy assumed the office of Chairman of Vijayawada Guntur Tenali Mangalagiri Urban Development Authority (VGTMUDA) amidst much fanfare here on Wednesday.

Later, Mr. Srinivas Reddy said that he would strive for the development of Krishna and Guntur districts. The budget, availability of funds, ongoing projects, new proposals etc. would be reviewed shortly. The UDA would soon chalk out plans to cater to the needs of the poor and improve the services, he asserted. Mr. Srinivas Reddy, who hails from Guntur district, is 11th Chairman of the UDA after its formation in 1978. There is a gap of nearly five and half years after Malladi Vishnu served as the chairman till December 2007. Vemulapalli Nagabhushanam, G.S. Raju, M.S.S. Koteswara Rao, Uppalapati Venkata Panduranga Rao, Nelluru Gandhi, Tumati Premanth, Kanchi Rama Rao, Dasari Balavardhan Rao, Kolli Sarada served as chairmen before Mr. Vishnu.

The State Government, however, is yet to constitute full Board. The government had not constituted full Board even during Mr. Vishnu’s tenure.

More In: Vijayawada