The Telugu Desam Party (TDP) seems to have ignored the immediate past corporators while selecting candidates for Vijayawada Municipal Corporation (VMC) Council elections. The TDP could win in 10 divisions in 2005 elections. Of this, two corporators—Jana Reddy and Sukamanchi Sailaja—switched their loyalties to Congress party sometime ago. Effectively, the TDP has 8 sitting corporators, who are aspiring to contest in the present elections. The party, however, ignored the pleas and candidature of them.

TDP Vijayawada (East), (West), (Central) in-charges, however, preferred to field their own candidates from the divisions that were represented by the Telugu Desam in 2005. Interestingly, fate of TDP former floor leader Yerubothu Ramana is hanging in balance. He told the party leadership that he was ready to contest in any of the 57, 45, 10 and 27 divisions. Mr. Ramana had won on party ticket in 1995, 2000 and 2005 municipal elections, and served as floor leader in 2005 Council. Likewise, party sources say, Koganti Vimala Kumari, Patti Nageswara Rao, Nalluri Usha Rani and Kareemullah were also “sidelined”.

Ms. Vimala Kumari’s husband Koganti Rama Rao has been aspiring to contest from 13th division. The party is said to have zeroed in Chennupati Gandhi for the division. TDP Urban president Buddha Venkanna favoured Mr. Ramana but TDP (West) in-charge K. Nagul Meera is keen on fielding Habeebulla from 27th division. TDP (East) in-charge Gadde Rammohan Rao has selected Lukka Sairam Goud for contesting from 10th division. Padala Kanna is another candidate to contest from a division in Vijayawada (East). The ex-corportors, however, were hopeful that the party “wouldn’t ignore their services and do justice to them.”

Telugu Mahila city president Chennupati Usha Rani and S. Nagendra Reddy are some of the other leaders who are in the race. They, however, are clueless about their future.

The TDP could bag only 10 divisions in 2005 elections as against a total of 59 divisions in the city and played opposition role.

More In: Vijayawada