Party MPs have told the Railway Minister that Vijayawada, Guntur, Guntakal and Vizag divisions can be brought together to form the new zone

Taking forward their demand to create the South Coastal Railway Zone, the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) MPs submitted a memorandum to Union Railway Minister Sadananda Gowda over the issue.

The TDP MPs--Kesineni Srinivas (Nani), Maganti Muralimohan and Avanthi Srinivas—told the Railway Minister that the Vijayawada, Guntur, Guntakal, Visakhapatnam divisions could be brought together to form the new railway zone.

They also discussed various issues pertaining to the Andhra Pradesh. They wanted the Union Minister to take up doubling of the Vijayawada-Kurnool railway line at the earliest.

The MPs also urged the Minister to take necessary steps to run inter-city train between Vijayawada and Kurnool.

More In: Vijayawada