A six-hour power cut will be imposed in the city from Monday onwards as against existing four-hour power cut. The six-hour power cut will be implemented in district headquarters (Machilipatnam) as well. The load relief will be imposed from 6 a.m. to 9 a.m., and 1p.m.to 4 p.m.

The SPDCL has stated that the load relief for all other towns and municipalities will be from 6 a.m. to 8 a.m., 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. and 3 p.m. to 6 p.m.

At all mandal headquarters and sub-station headquarters, the power cut will be from 6 a.m. to 9 a.m., 11 a.m. to 2 p.m., and 4 p.m. to 6 p.m. In rural areas, there will not be power supply from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.

All the EHT, HT, and LT industries with a load relief of more than 30 HP excluding continuous process industry will have to avail power only for lighting supply every day from 6.30 p.m. to 10.30 p.m. i.e., evening peak.

‘Power holiday'

Likewise, the division wise power holiday is: town division (Monday and Tuesday), Gunadala division (Monday, Tuesday), rural division (Wednesday, Thursday), Nuzvid division (Wednesday, Thursday), Gudivada division (Thursday, Friday), Vuyyuru (Friday and Saturday), and Machilipatnam division (Friday and Saturday).

All continuous process industries will have to utilise only 70 per cent of normal utilisation demand continuously during the month except during the peak load period. Industries such as bio tech life saving drugs and agriculture seed industries with a dedicated 132/33/11 KV feeders can use supply throughout the month with 50 per cent normal utilisation demand.

All cotton industries, textile and spinning mills have to shut down the loads during the evening shift from 2 p.m. to 10p.m. for seven days a week or they can shutdown for two days in a week and they can avail continuous load without load restriction for balance five days.

Industries such as cold storage units can avail supply throughout the month with 80 percent of the normal utilisation, of maximum demand but using lighting load only during period from 6.30 p.m. to 11.30 p.m.

The public water system, railway traction, government hospitals, defence, organisations, airports, poultry units, and major corporate hospitals were exempted from the load relief.