The Rajiv Jyothi Sadbhavana Yatra, flagged off at Sriperambadur on Tuesday, reached the city in the early hours of Wednesday. The rally was flagged off by AICC secretary P. Sudhakar Reddy and TNCC president K.V. Thangabalu and it will pass through Andhra Pradesh, Orissa, West Bengal, Jharkhand, Uttar Pradesh, and Haryana before it reaches New Delhi and culminate at ‘Veerbhoomi' on August 20.

AICC member and the jyothi yatra committee chairman S.S. Prakasam, who is accompanying the jyothi (torch), along with 200 activists from all over the country, said that the yatra was flagged off at Sriperambadur, Tamil Nadu, entered Andhra Pradesh immediately and crossed Naidupet, Nellore, and Ongole before it reached Vijayawada late on Tuesday night. The torch was brought to the Andhra Ratna Bhavan on Wednesday morning. Congress activists under the leadership of city president Pyla Sominaidu paid tributes to the jyothi. The jyothi yatra would make overnight halts at Visakhapatnam, Bhubaneswar, Calcutta, Ranchi, Varanasi, Allahabad, and Agra before reaching New Delhi on August 19.

More In: Vijayawada