Centre urged to place Srikrishna Committee report in Parliament

The political Joint Action Committee (JAC) organised a maha satyagraha near Sub Collector’s office in protest against the decision to bifurcate the State. The leaders and activists of political parties and voluntary associations took part in the satyagraha on Sunday.

The Sub Collector’s office area echoed with slogans and speeches against the division of the state. The artists and people eking out on traditional occupations made their presence felt. The washermen washed clothes, while a cobbler mended the shoes. The artists, including folk artists and singers, gave performances in support of the Samaikyandhra.

Samata Party leader Krishna Rao, Congress leader Kolanukonda Shivaji PCC secretary Gangadhar and others spoke. They demanded the Central Government to place the Sri Krishna Committee report be placed before Parliament. The Government spent Rs.25 crore on the committee, which toured entire state and took a year to submit its findings. The Committee report was gathering dust and the Congress has taken a unilateral decision with an eye on 2014 elections, they said.

The JAC also demand the Congress Working Committee (CWC) of a rollback of its decision. Any decision to bifurcate the state should be in accordance with the Constitution. The CWC decision was not binding on the people of the State. It has no legal sanctity. Neither the Antony Committee has, the process should start in Parliament and let there be a discussion on it, the JAC leaders said.

Mr. Rao said that the agitation was not confined to just coastal Andhra. There were many voices in Telangana as well and leaders like Asaduddin Owaisi and Jagga Reddy were opposing the division.

Dr. Gangadhar said that the CWC went back on its resolution in 2001 for constituting the Second SRC. More so, the division was against the wishes of former Prime Minister Indira Gandhi, he pointed out.

AP Treasury Services Association president G. Ravi Kumar said their members would also join strike from Monday. A.P. Revenue Services Association Krishna district president K. Kotam Raju said that they would go on indefinite strike.

The Andhra Pradesh Cooperative Services Association president T. V. Phani Perraju said that their association had resolved to join the strike. Andhra Pradesh Non Graduate Veterinarians Federation vice chairman M. Sambasiva Rao said that their members would strike all services except emergencies. Visually Challenged Employees Association president G. Ravindra Babu said they would also join the strike from Monday midnight.