Political equations set to change in Vijayawada (Central)


The political equations in the Vijayawada (Central) constituency are all set to change, marring the prospects of some aspirants and giving a breather to some others in the Telugu Desam Party (TDP).

The race for the Vijayawada (East) constituency is heating up with the rumour mill suggesting that the TDP will have a poll alliance with the BJP in the coming general elections. It is stoking animated discussion and intense analyses in both the parties.

Past glory

There is talk that the BJP would insist for Vijayawada (Central) constituency, a major chunk of which is the erstwhile Vijayawada (East), stating that it has already represented it in the past. The BJP won from Vijayawada (East) when the city had only two constituencies, Vijayawada (East) and Vijayawada (West), and Kankipadu was an adjoining constituency, in 1999.

Cine actor Kota Srinivasa Rao was the BJP candidate who got elected. The BJP is now scouting for candidates with winning prospects and is likely to field cine actor Sai Kumar from Vijayawada (Central), sources say.

The strategy of the BJP, sources say, is to zero in on Vijayawada (Central), which is a Brahmin-dominated Assembly segment in Vijayawada Parliamentary constituency.

There are many aspirants from the party for the Vijayawada (Central) ticket and the list includes Kota Krishna Bhagawan, a close relative of Mr. Srinivasa Rao, Lakshmipati Raja, Pucha Poornanada Sastry, all Brahmins.

The aspirants from other communities are V. Srinivasa Raju, Umamaheswara Raju, Amirneni Rajeev, grandson of Montessori Mahila Kalasala founder Koteswaramma, women entrepreneur Jogulamba, and Veeramachaneni Ranga Prasad.

On the other hand, the alliance would definitely change the prospects of the TDP Vijayawada (Central) in-charge Bonda Umamaheswara Rao. In 2009 elections too, his chances were marred at the fag end. The TDP asked him to do legwork in Vijayawada (East) before 2009 elections.

But in the 11 hour, Gadde Rammohan Rao, who was keen on contesting from Gannavaram, was shunted to Vijayawada (East) to make place for Dasari Balavardhana Rao, the MLA.

Ever since that, Mr. Umamaheswara Rao has been trying to get a toe hold in Vijayawada (Central) and Mr. Rammohan Rao, who lost in last elections, is trying to do the same in Vijayawada (East).

Please Wait while comments are loading...
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Aug 20, 2017 3:10:41 PM |