Followers of late Paritala Ravindra, former TDP MLA from Penukonda are all set to extract their pound of flesh by realigning themselves during the 2014 general elections. They are determined to bargain for 10 to 12 Assembly and Member of Parliament constituency tickets.

If in case their demands are not met, they are prepared to leave the party, sources say. They are, party sources say, demanding the party President N. Chandrababu Naidu to earmark Vijayawada and Hindupur Lok Sabha seats for them.

The TDP has to earmark a constituency for Paritala Sunitha, wife of Paritala Ravi, or her son Paritala Sriram. Ms. Sunitha is sitting MLA from Raptadu Assembly constituency. This apart, three other sitting MLAs are close associates of Paritala Ravi. The list includes: Penugonda MLA Parthasarathy, Kadiri MLA Venkata Prasad, Hindupur MLA Abdul Ghani who won last elections on TDP symbol. Raptadu, Kadiri, Penugonda and Hindupur assembly constituencies fall under the Hindupur Parliamentary constituency.

Paritala Ravi’s close aide Chaman has set his eyes on Hindupur Parliamentary constituency, which is now represented by TDP leader Nimmala Kishtappa. The TDP Urban unit president Vallabhaneni Vamsi had contested from Vijayawada parliamentary constituency in 2009 elections.

Paritala Ravi followers feel that they have good sway over 10 to 12 constituencies in Krishna, Guntur, and Anantapur districts. The Telugu Desam, however, was not recognising that.

“There is no dearth of political parties. Nowadays, the political parties are hard pressed for good leaders and cadre. We will be forced to explore other options if the party does not consider our request,” said a leader, who did not want to be quoted.

More In: Vijayawada