Irate party activists stage a dharna to register their protest

The nomination of Telugu Desam Party’s candidate for the Krishna District Cooperative Central Bank (DCCB) president post, E. Venkataramaiah, filed for bank director post, was rejected after scrutiny at Machilipatnam on Friday.

Irate party activists staged a dharna to register their protest against rejection of the nomination papers.

A complaint was filed against Mr. Venkataramaiah by the candidates who filed nominations for bank directors’ posts led by former Minister Pinnamaneni Venkateswara Rao, the Congress candidate for the DCCB president post.

According to the complaint, Mr. Venkataramaiah was a licensed pawn-broker and was therefore not eligible to contest for the bank director post. The officials later announced that the papers filed by Mr. Venkataramaiah were being rejected as per the provisions of the Rule 22 of Section 21 A of the Andhra Pradesh State Cooperative Societies Act, 1964. The Telugu Desam in a quick move announced Yerneni Lakshmi Prasad as its candidate for the bank president’s post. Mr. Venkataramaiah, talking to the media, said that he would however approach the court of law for justice.

In all, 46 nominations were filed for the 16 bank directors’ posts in Group A. The Congress and the TDP candidates came in rallies to file papers for all bank director posts except the one reserved for scheduled tribes. The YSR Congress candidates came quietly and filed nominations too. No nomination was filed for the bank director post reserved for the STs.

The officials received 37 nominations for ten non-reserved bank director posts. Three candidates filed nominations for director posts reserved for SCs and all three would be declared unanimously elected as there is no contest for their posts. Six candidates are in the fray for two director posts that are reserved for BCs.

For director posts in group-B (diary, weavers, fishermen and other such cooperative societies) 13 candidates are in the fray for five posts. Similarly 17 candidates are in the fray for 11 District Cooperative Market Society director posts.

Keywords: dharnaTDP

More In: Vijayawada