It will cater to a huge area with a population of more than three lakhs

The city has got a new Law and Order police station after 20 years. Ajith Singh Nagar police station has been carved out by taking out a few areas from the existing Satyanarayanapuram Police Station and Nunna Police Station, for better policing of the area said Commissioner of Police B. Sreenivasulu.

Inaugurating the new police station on Friday, he said both S.N. Puram and Nunna police stations cater to a huge geographical area and a population of more than three lakhs, which was a Herculean task for the police team.

In the Police Commissionerate the number of stations was not increased, despite the growth in the population and expanding city limits, he said. Currently the new station will be located on the SN Puram police station premises, but in about a month it will be moved to the Community Hall in New Raja Rajeswari Peta.

Mr. Sreenivasulu said Vijayawada Municipal Corporation had allotted space in the community hall to locate the police station and Vijayawada Central MLA Malladi Vishnu had given Rs.7 lakh for renovation of the allotted area and converting it into a police station. The MLA said apart from the Ajith Singh Nagar police station, a GO has been passed to set up another police station at Bhavanipuram. With the establishment of Bhavanipuram police station, the Commissionerate will have 14 stations manned by SHOs, six by sub-inspectors and two circles.

Addressing the gathering, Mr. Vishnu said the police should take into confidence the local welfare associations for maintaining peace in the localities. Collector M. Raghunandana Rao said in developed countries there was a police station for every 80,000 people, whereas in India one police station caters to over two to three lakh people. “The launch of Ajith Singh Nagar police station and the upcoming one at Bhavanipuram will surely make policing easier,” he said.

The new police station will cater to Ramakrishnapuram, Devi Nagar, Ayodhya Nagar, Kedareswarpeta, Ramalingeswarapeta, Vijaydurga Nagar, Shanti Nagar and Lotus Landmark under Satyanarayanapuram limits; and New Raja Rajeswaripeta, Nandamuri Nagar, Andhra Prabha Colony and Ajit Singh Nagar under Nunna limits.

The VMC Commissioner C. Hari Kiran, MLC Boddu Nageswara Rao, MLA (Gannavaram) Dasari Balavardhana Rao, DCP (Law and Order) M. Ravi Prakash, DCP (Admin) A.S. Khan and other senior officers were present.

More In: Vijayawada