The Election Commission has issued orders that election to Mayor post in Corporation and Chairpersons in municipalities will be conducted on July 3. The polls are scheduled to be held at 10 a.m. Similarly, elections to ZPTCs Chairman and Vice-Chairman posts would be conducted on July 4 and July 5 respectively.

Polls were conducted to Vijayawada Municipal Corporation (VMC), five municipalities and three nagar panchayats three months ago. The Chairperson posts of Machilipatnam, Pedana, Gudivada and Jaggaaiahpeta civic bodies fall under unreserved category, while the same for Nuzvid has been allotted for general (woman). Likewise, Tiruvuru has been reserved for SC (Women), while the Nandigama and Vuyyuru have been earmarked for BC (General).

After a gap of three-and-a-half years, the city will come under the rule of an elected body. The Mayor’s post, which was reserved for women during last two councils, has been earmarked for general category this time.

More In: Vijayawada