Krishna University will host the South Zone Inter-University Women Kabaddi Championship from November 6 to 10 at Kakani Venkataratnam College at Nandigama, according to university Vice-Chancellor V. Venkaiah.

Speaking to mediapersons here on Friday, Mr. Venkaiah said that 30 universities confirmed their participation and some more were expected to enrol. “We are expecting participation from 50 universities and making arrangements for successful conduct of the event,” he said.

The sports board allocated Rs.5 lakh to Rs. 7 lakh for the event. This would be the second national event since the inception of the university in 2008. Earlier, it staged South Zone and all-India inter-university tennis championship at Andhra Loyola College in 2012.

He said that the KRU allocated Rs.25 lakh towards sports budget for this academic year to conduct inter-collegiate tournaments, to field KRU teams at the inter-university events and to present cash awards for medallists. “Last year we spent Rs. 20 lakhs and we have increased the budget by Rs. 5 lakhs this year,” he added.

Allowance hiked

The sports board enhanced the zonal convener allowance from Rs.2,500 to Rs.3,000, financial assistance to colleges to organise inter-collegiate tournaments from Rs.3, 200 to Rs.3, 500 and DA for players from Rs. 175 to Rs. 200.

Last year Krishna University fielded teams in 34 South Zone and all-India university competitions in which gymnast Suresh Kumar won a gold medal in the pommel horse event at Kurukshetra University. Sk. Nageena (powerlifting) and J. Pallavi (weightlifting) finished fourth in the all-India event.

The university constituted its sports board for current academic year in which it re-nominated Andhra Cricket Association secretary Gokaraju Ganga Raju as a member along with Y. Gopi Krishna, professor of physical education from JNTU, Hyderabad, as an expert member.

The Sports Board will function under the chairmanship of Mr. Venkaiah with N. Srinivasa Rao, reader in physical education, VKR College at Buddhavaram, as secretary. University Registrar D. Suryachandra Rao will be the treasurer.

More In: Vijayawada | Sport