Nandamuri Harikrishna contested from Gudivada Assembly segment in 1999 general elections as candidate of Anna TDP and fared poorly

Contrary to the spirit of democracy, the concept of forcing political succession has been a part of Indian polity. But, it was not a cakewalk for the successors of eminent personalities who created history in the politics of State.

Sons of Telugu Desam Party (TDP) founder president N T Rama Rao, and Congress leader Kakani Venkatratnam, popularly known as Ukku Kakani, battled out in the electoral arena in the district hoping that luck and lineage would pull them through. While Rama Rao laid foundation for a regional party, Venkatratnam was popular for his Andhra movement.

For Nandamuri Harikrishna, who steered the chaitaynya ratham of his father Rama Rao, electoral battles were not new. He contested from Gudivada Assembly segment in 1999 general elections as candidate of Anna TDP, a splinter group of TDP. But, he slipped to fourth place, and could secure only 10.89 per cent votes, which is 7.49 per cent less than votes secured by an independent candidate, Katari Eswara Kumar, who stood in third place.

Kakani Ramamohana Rao, son of Venkataratnam, tried his luck thrice from Vuyyur assembly segment, which was represented by his father thrice (1955, 1962 and 1972). Interestingly, he lost 1974 by election to an independent candidate Kanakamedala Ranga Rao, after sudden death of his father in 1973.

Similarly, Puchalapalli Sundaraiah, a veteran Communist leader, represented Gannavaram assembly segment in 1955 and 1962 as undivided CPI candidate, and in 1978 as CPI(M) candidate. His successors/candidates fielded by the party did not succeed from Gannavaram assembly segment.

After the split in Communist party, M. suryavathi contested from Gannavaram in 1967 while A. Srimannarayana contested in 1968 by election and 1972 general election. They, however, lost to Congress candidates. Sundaraiah once again contested in 1978 from here and defeated Congress candidate Dr. Lanka Venkateswara Rao.

Former Minister and Congress leader Devineni Rajasekhar (Nehru), son Devineni Avinash, is trying his luck from Vijayawada Parliamentary constituency this election. Vangaveeti Radhakrishna, son of late Vangaveeti Mohana Ranga Rao, is contesting from Vijaywada (East) Assembly constituency. He unsuccessfully contested from Vijayawada (Central) constituency in 2009 election as Praja Rajyam Party (PRP) candidate. Koraganji Durgamba, widow of K. Sekhar Babu is contesting as CPI candidate from Vijayawada (West).

More In: Vijayawada