Galla, Rayapati and Ayodhya file nominations

Keeping date with the auspicious day, most senior leaders filed nominations in Guntur on Wednesday. Notable among them were, Ramky Group of Industries chairman Ayodhya Rami Reddy Alla and Rayapati Sambasiva Rao who filed their nominations for the Narsaraopet Lok Sabha segment.

Joint Collector and Returning Officer of Narsaraopet Vivek Yadav received the nominations. Family members of Mr. Rao accompanied him to the Collector’s office.

Galla Jayadev, vice-president of Amara Raja Group, filed his nomination for the Guntur Lok Sabha segment. District Collector and Returning Officer S. Suresh Kumar received the papers. Ramachandra Naidu, Jayadev’s father, former Minister S. Aruna, TDP general secretary Mannava Subba Rao and former Mayor Ch. Yesuratnam accompanied him.

Lella Appireddy and Sk. Mustafa filed their nomination papers for Guntur West and Guntur East Assembly segments.

In Tenali, all three major contenders, Nadendla Manohar (INC), Alapati Rajendra Prasad (TDP) and Annabathuna Siva (YSRC) filed their nomination papers.

Mr. Sambasiva Rao and Mr. Jayadev went in huge processions to the Collector’s office, but their supporters were stopped at the gate, as rules allowed only five persons to accompany the candidate.

Mr. Appireddy submitted his nomination papers to Additional Commissioner and Returning Officer Sai Srikanth.

In Narsaraopet, YSRC candidate Gopireddy Srinivasa Reddy filed his nomination papers.

The main road leading to the Collectorate was choc-a-block, with candidates moving with huge processions. More nominations are expected to be filed on Thursday, too, as Friday is a holiday.

More In: Vijayawada