Unidentified persons steal nomination papers from Thubadu panchayat office

As only eight days remain for panchayat elections to be held in three phases starting with Tenali division on July 23, the police intensified checking of vehicles at check-posts and other important public places to curb the movement of anti-social elements, cash and other material which could cause a law and order problem.

They have also been regularly doing night patrols in the wake of reports of thefts in panchayat offices and due focus is since being laid on their security.

In one such incident, unidentified persons broke open the doors of panchayat office at Thubadu in Nadendla mandal and stole some nomination papers related to Chirumamilla, Jangalapalli and Thubadu. Thubadu is the native place of Minister for Cooperation Kasu Venkata Krishna Reddy. The police are also keeping a close watch on movement of cash and have already seized huge sums at check-posts. Cash is being apparently smuggled to influence the voters and used for other illegal purposes.

On a few occasions, the police have seized cash belonging to banks and other government departments, which are getting the monies released by complying with the due legal processes. On Monday, the police have seized Rs 50 lakh at Chebrolu. A case has been booked. Meanwhile, the election authorities are making arrangements for smooth conduct of the elections. A total of 5,249 nominations have been filed for the posts of sarpanches of 1,010 villages (1,666 for 348 villages in Tenali division, 1,633 for 307 villages in Guntur division and 1,950 nominations for 355 villages in Narsaraopet division).

The total number of nominations filed for 10,654 ward member posts in the three divisions stood at 28,443 (8,187 nominations for 3,568 posts in Tenali, 9,684 for 3,306 posts in Guntur and 10,572 ward member posts in Narsaraopet division). General observers B. Udaya Lakshmi (Commissioner for Social Welfare), Ravi Babu (Director of Civil Supplies) and Srinivasa Sastry (Director of Silviculture) are monitoring arrangements and implementation of the code of conduct.

Krishna District Chief Election Observer Dasari Kadmiel and Collector Buddha Prakash M. Jyothi on Monday conducted a special meeting with police and representatives of political parties.

Mr. Kadmiel appealed to the political party leaders to extend their support for peaceful conduct of elections. He also said contestants should stop campaign by evening 5 p.m on July 21.

According to the Collector, AP State Election Commission has appointed three-member team to conduct the elections in Krishna District. M. Raghunandana Rao will be election observer and Akoism Sonibala Devi election expenditure observer. People can lodge complaints regarding illegal flow of money and liquor during the election campaign at the control rooms. The control room phone numbers are: 08672 – 252399, 252090, 0866-2491001, 9440902232, 9440902263.

More In: Vijayawada