Mylavaram MLA and TDP district president Devineni Umamaheswara Rao has tendered his resignation to Speaker Nadendla Manohar. The MLA resigned to his post and sent a fax to the speaker. On the occasion, he said that he has resigned to protest against unconstitutional method adopted by UPA government to pass the AP Reorganisation Bill. The government passed the bill from back door. The Telugus faced insult and humiliation in Parliament. The government made mockery of democracy. Inept performance of three women—AICC president Sonia Gandhi, Speaker Meira Kumar and BJP leader Sushma Swaraj— was responsible for the division of State and mockery of parliamentary practices, he said.

The TDP leader said that they would launch padayatras and cycle yatras in the district to create awareness among public on Congress role in the division of the State.

More In: Vijayawada