Cities » Vijayawada

Updated: November 6, 2013 12:31 IST

Crucial VGTM-UDA Board meeting on Thursday

Staff Reporter
Comment   ·   print   ·   T  T  
UDA Chairman Vanukuri Srinivasa Reddy. Photo: T. Vijaya Kumar
The Hindu
UDA Chairman Vanukuri Srinivasa Reddy. Photo: T. Vijaya Kumar

The Vijayawada Guntur Tenali Mangalagiri Urban Development Authority (VGTMUDA) Board is scheduled to meet on Thursday.

The meet assumes significance as it is the first one since Chairman Vanukuri Srinivas Reddy assumed office in July. Being an election year, many key issues are likely to be approved at this meeting. The VGTMUDA’s last board meeting was held on May 23.

Withdrawal of land acquisition notification issued for Ambapuram Township, master plan for new jurisdiction, approval of Green Building for UDA office, Oryza County and ropeway project are some of the important issues that may figure in the Board’s meeting.

Speaker’s promise

Speaker Nadendla Manohar has asked the UDA to construct drains in SC Colony in his constituency and promised to earmark funds from his Assembly Constituency Development Funds. Withdrawal of land acquisition notification issued for Ambapuram Township, a major issue that came for discussion during the previous meeting, but was kept in abeyance for want of information, may figure this time in the meeting.

Vijayawada (West) MLA Velampalli Srinivas Rao made a proposal to lay roads to the wholesale market and Housing Board Colony. Guntur MP Rayapati Sambasiva Rao has deposited Rs.65 lakh as contribution from MP LADS to lay an approach road to Pedakakani temple in Guntur district. The proposals of MLAs and MPs under UDA jurisdiction were some of the issues that were likely to figure in the meeting.

Meet put off thrice

It may be recalled that these issues were pending as the Board meeting was put off thrice consecutively in a row before May 23. The government had not constituted the Board ever since the nominated body chaired by Kolli Sarada expired in 2003.

Vijayawada (Central) MLA Malladi Vishnu headed the Board for four years though no other members were nominated. The Government appointed Mr. Srinivas Reddy as Chairman in July this year. The present official board has a Chairman, Vice-chairman, VMC Commissioner, Director of Town and Country Planning, and Additional Secretary (Finance) as members.

More In: Vijayawada
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Andhra Pradesh





Recent Article in Vijayawada

AP Volley Ball Association president S Kodandaramaiah addressing a press conference in Vijayawada on Saturday.Photo. Ch. Vijaya Bhaskar

Rival faction defied IOA diktat, says APVA chief

Kodandaramaiah says elections in Hyderabad will not have any validity »