‘State will take important decisions on implementing Telugu as official language at WTC’

Official Language Commission chairman Mandali Buddha Prasad expressed regret that the State had a poor track record in implementing Telugu as the official language in administrative matters more than five decades after Andhra Pradesh became India’s first State formed on linguistic basis.

In spite of its classical status and the sheer number of people who speak Telugu, it figured in the UNESCO’s list of endangered languages. Only a concerted effort by the Government and Telugu-speaking people around the world can save the language from extinction.

On its part, the Government is keen on taking some important decisions related to implementation of Telugu as the official language in letter and spirit. Chief Minister N. Kiran Kumar Reddy will make an announcement during the upcoming World Telugu Conference (WTC- ‘Prapancha Telugu Mahasabhalu’) scheduled to be held at Tirupati later this month, according to Mr. Buddha Prasad. Addressing a massive congregation of school students and invitees after unveiling a statue of ‘Telugu talli’ at the Collector’s office here on Friday as part of the ‘Telugu Mahotsavam’, Mr. Buddha Prasad said Telugu language had played a crucial role in the formation of Andhra Pradesh by uniting the social fabric and the ‘Andhra Mahasabha’ held in Guntur district in 1913 was a turning point in history.

Eminent Telugu literary personalities have enriched the language by their works.

Telugu flourished till the onslaught of western culture and languages. It was recognised as a ‘classical language’ belatedly but its fall from grace could not be stopped.

The present and future generations should bear the responsibility of passing the language on to posterity by setting themselves as role models lest the UNESCO’s warning should come true. ‘Mummy and daddy’ culture should be shunned first.

District In-Charge Minister T.G. Venkatesh said the Telugu language and culture were famous around the world and no stone should be left unturned to enhance their pride. Ministers Kasu Venkata Krishna Reddy and D. Manikya Varaprasada Rao, MLC K.S. Lakshman Rao, MLA Sk. Mastan Vali, ‘Mahasahasravadhani’ Garikapati Narasimha Rao, In-Charge Collector N. Yuvaraj, SPs A. Ravi Krishna and J. Satyanarayana were present.

More In: Vijayawada