Two independent candidates filed nominations on Monday, two days after the notification was issued for by-election to the Avanigadda Assembly constituency.

Returning Officer and VGTMUDA Secretary G. Ravi told reporters on Monday that two independent candidates Turlapati Ramamohan Rao and Badarla Venkateswara Rao had filed their nominations. Returning Officer received the nominations from the candidates at the Tahsildar office here. The two candidates belong to Avanigadda village.

The Telugu Desam Party had finalised former MLA Ambati Bhrahmanaiah’s son Ambati Hari Prasad as its candidate, but he is yet to file the nomination papers. The election will be held on August 21. The TDP president Nara Chandrababu Naidu, meanwhile, has appealed to all the political parties not to field candidates so that Mr. Hari Prasad can get elected unanimously. Mr. Naidu reminded them of the tradition being followed by all political parties in the State that if someone from the family of the deceased MLA was fielded as a candidate, other parties do not field their candidates. According to the returning officer, nominations will be received from till 3 p.m. on August 3.


47 per cent polling in Avanigadda by-electionAugust 21, 2013