The number of competitors in race organised by the Andhra Loyola College Walkers Association touched 39 by the time the walk concludes.

It was around 3.15 a.m., the roads wore a deserted look except for a few milk vans on their morning rounds. The city was still in deep slumber. But, the environs at Andhra Loyola College (ALC) Grounds came alive with the Andhra Loyola College Walkers Association organising mega walk.

Old Telugu melodies were churned out to pep up the mood of the walkers. There were a handful of enthusiastic morning walkers eagerly waiting for clock to tick 3.30 a.m. A couple of members had grumps on timing of the event. Flagging off the mega walk set the mood at 3.35 a.m. It began with about 20 walkers.

As the time started ticking, the members began to pour in. And the total number of competitors in race touched 39 by the time the walk concluded. To enthuse the walkers, the mike operator experimented with genres with every round, which covered a distance of 400 metres.

Neither was it rambling nor a strolling. Breathing oxygen, available in abundance, the young and the old raced with one another. Everyone seemed to be determined to complete 40 rounds, which totals to around 16 km. As the walkers completed the final round, their comrades cheered them with thundering applause.

A festive atmosphere prevailed and as the event came to a close there were at least 500 morning walkers around cheering the participants.

Dr. P. Ramesh Babu of Ramesh Hospitals, who participated as Chief Guest, handed over prizes to winners.

In senior citizen’s category, Dr. Chakrapani, S. Nagabhushanam and T. Basaveswara Rao stood first, second and third positions respectively. In common pool, M. Srinivas Rao, K V Rama Rao and S. Mallikarjuna Rao bagged first, second and third prizes respectively. In women category, K. Navina and Sai Sudha secured first and second positions.

The Association president Raavi Krishna Rao, general secretary J.V.S.R.K. Prasad, Lions Club 202 district governor Alamuri Amarnadh, Dr. Singari Prabhakar, Laughter Club president Tondepu Hanumantha Rao and others were present.

More In: Vijayawada