Formation of the first linguistic state of Andhra Pradesh in the country was celebrated with enthusiasm in Prakasam district on Tuesday with Samaikyandhra protagonists reiterating their commitment to keep the State united.

Municipal Administration Minister M Mahidhar Reddy and TDP district president D Janardhan were among the leaders of different parties who paid floral tributes to 'Amarajeevi Potti Sriramulu, whose supreme life sacrifice led to formation of Andhra state in 1953 and later Andhra Pradesh in 1956.

At the celebrations organised by the State government at the Police Kalyana Mandapam, District Collector Kantilal Dande outlined the various initiatives taken up by the State government to accelerate development. He inaugurated the Re 1-a-kg rice scheme on the occasion.

Bank linkage to 344 Self Help Groups to the tune of Rs 7.26 crore were provided by the District Collector along with Superintendent of Police K Raghuram Reddy and others.

At a meeting organised by the Samaikyandhra Vidyarthi Joint Action Commitee at Pernamitta, representatives of State government employees, teachers and lawyers vowed to make any sacrifice to prevent any move to divide the state.

Cultural programmes were organised to highlight the rich cultural heritage of Telugu people on the occasion.

District Revenue Officer Mekka Ravindra Babu, Deputy Superintendent of Police A Shankar Reddy, Samaikyandhra Udyama Joint Action Committee coconvenor T S S Singh, also principal of the ABM Degree college, SVJAC state Coconvenor Rayapati Jagadeesh, Andhra Pradesh Non Gazetted Officers Association (APNGOA) State associate president Sk Abdul Basheer, YSR Congress Party District Spokesman B Brahmananda Reddy were among those who addressed the students at the corporate junior college in Pernamitta.

More In: Vijayawada