Arrangements have been made for 61,000 graduates to cast their vote at 86 polling stations on February 21, the polling date for the Krishna-Guntur graduates’ constituency of the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council. Vijayawada Revenue Divisional Officer and Assistant Election Registration Officer S. Venkata Rao reviewed arrangements for the election in Vijayawada on Tuesday.

The RDO said that 56 polling stations were established in 15 mandals of the revenue division and another 30 polling stations arranged in the 59 municipal divisions of the city.

The revenue division had been earmarked into five divisions and ten routes. Out of the 19 candidates that were in the fray only two candidates were representing recognised political parties, while the rest were independents. Web cameras were being fixed at all polling stations to keep a close watch on the polling staff, he said. Zonal Officers K. Komali Padma, T. Sivarama Prasad, Siva Reddy, M. Sunil, Route officers D. Srinivas, Arun Babu, M. Nagaraju, Md. Ibrahim, P. Srinivas, K. Kotam Raju, and sub-collector’s office administrative officer T. Jayasri were present.

The APSRTC Employees’ Union has announced its support to the candidature of Amineni Sriramakrishna. The union established an election campaign office at Gayatri Towers near the Police Control Room.

Former secretary of the Election Commission of India Ch. Rama Brahmam, and Collector S. Suresh Kumar suggested to the officials concerned to take all precautions for ensuring fool-proof conduct of the elections.Utmost care has to be taken as the voting is to be done manually.From transporting the ballot boxes to counting, officials have to make a coordinated effort to hold the elections peacefully. Addressing a review meeting on the MLC elections here, Mr. Rama Brahmam said unlike the candidates contesting for seats in the Legislative Assembly, those vying for a stint in the Legislative Council would not have any symbols.

DROs K. Nagababu and L. Vijay Chander were present.

More In: Vijayawada