The candidature of D.V. Subba Rao and G.V.K. Gangaraju was challenged

The scrutiny of nominations for the Andhra Cricket Association elections scheduled for July 13 was completed on Monday after the returning officer was changed. Vijayawada Police Commissioner Amit Garg was to scrutinise the nomination papers after it was put off last month, but Hyderabad Golf Club Secretary B.L.K. Reddy was brought in his place.

The returning officer rejected the application of P.R. Narayanaswamy, former ACA official, on the ground that proper documents as per the stipulation were not submitted. Meanwhile, the candidature of D.V. Subba Rao and G.V.K. Gangaraju was challenged by the S.L. Narayana/N.Venkata Rao panel on the ground that they did not attend the required number of AGMs of their home associations.

This group also challenged the change of returning officer without proper notice to all members. The S.L. Narayana panel was contemplating legal action against the conduct of the elections on these grounds. There are a total of 41 voters in the elections to be held at Vijayawada Club in Guntur district.

Meanwhile, the Sports Authority of Andhra Pradesh served a show-cause notice on the ACA for not involving the SAAP in its activities as per G.O. No.1384 dt. November 19, 2010, which stipulates nomination of two persons from the government through district Collectors in cricket and sports associations as the associations had taken the land from the government.

However, outgoing secretary Gangaraju said the ACA was registered as a society with the Registrar of Societies and run with the funds from the Board of Control for Cricket in India as per its rules and regulations.

More In: Vijayawada