Nineteen candidates are in the fray for the Krishna-Guntur Graduates Constituency for the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council. Election observer B. Rajasekhar, addressing officials at a meeting, here on Thursday said that the last day for withdrawal of nominations was over.

Out of the 20 candidates who filed nominations only one withdrew papers. He said that 1,08,632 graduates were eligible to vote from Krishna district in the elections for which 159 polling centres were established. Giving revenue division-wise break up of the polling centres he said that the number of centres in Bandar division was 26, in Nuzvid 26, in Vijayawada 86 and in Gudivada division the number was 21.

Fifteen zones had been established for distribution of polling materials and police protection. The 15 zones would be covered by 24 routes, he said. Joint Collector P. Ushakumari, Municipal Commissioner G.S. Pandadas, DRO L. Vijayachander, RDOs S.Venkata Rao, I. Venkateswara Rao and B. Subba Rao were present at the meeting.

Chigurupati Vara Prasad (Telugu Desam Party) and Jupudi Ranga Raju (Bharatiya Janata Party) are the prominent candidates vying for the prestigious seat.There was no candidate representing Congress party.

All others (17 candidates) are independents. Polling is scheduled to take place on February 21.


Meanwhile, Guntur District Collector and Returning Officer S. Suresh Kumar and Superintendent of Police (urban) A. Ravi Krishna inspected the arrangements made for counting of votes at A.L. College of Education here which has been designated as reception and counting centre.

They ordered that tight security be provided in and around the college to prevent any untoward incident.

The ballot boxes have to be transported to the college amidst fool-proof security.

District Revenue Officer K. Nagababu, Revenue Divisional Officer P. Venkata Ramana and others were present.

More In: Vijayawada