Tiruchi district gets one more revenue division

A beneficiary thanking Chief Minister Jayalalithaa through videoconferencing for setting up the new RDO office in Srirangam. Collector Jayashree Muralidharan is at right. Photo: R. M. Rajarathinam   | Photo Credit: R_M_RAJARATHINAM


Jayalalithaa inaugurates it through videoconferencing; new division encompasses Srirangam, Manapparai, Marungapuri taluks

A new revenue division, with Srirangam as its headquarters, became functional in the district with Chief Minister Jayalalithaa inaugurating it through videoconference from Chennai on Tuesday.

This will be the fourth revenue division in the district after Tiruchi, Lalgudi, and Musiri. The new division will have Srirangam, Manapparai and Marungapuri taluks under its jurisdiction. The Revenue Divisional Office will temporarily be located at Cholan Nagar in the outskirts of the city on the Tiruchi-Dindigul National Highway.

Along with the new revenue division, the newly created Tiruchi East and Marungapuri taluks also became functional on Tuesday. The government had recently ordered the bifurcation of the Tiruchi and Manapparai taluks in the district, taking the number of taluks in the district from 9 to 11.

While Tiruchi has been bifurcated into Tiruchi East and Tiruchi West taluks, Manapparai has been bifurcated into Manapparai and Marungapuri taluks. The new Marungapuri taluk will cater to a population of about 1.41 lakh in an area of about 445 square km and the Manapparai taluk to about 2.63 lakh in 544.36 square km. The creation of new revenue division and taluks, officials said, would benefit people as they can avail various government services easily and quickly in Tiruchi and Srirangam revenue divisions.

Collector Jayashree Muralidharan said a new office of the Srirangam Revenue Divisional Office (RDO) will be built at Navalur Kuttapattu soon at a cost of Rs.1.80 crore. A residential quarter for the RDO will also be built at a cost of Rs.35 lakhs. Fifteen new posts, including that of the Revenue Divisional Officer, have been created for the new division.

The new Marungapuri taluk will have Marungapuri, Valanadu, and Thuvarankurichi firkas as its jurisdictional areas. The Taluk Office will function temporarily at T.Kallupatti, about three km away from Marungapuri, on the Tiruchi-Madurai National Highway.

The Tiruchi East Taluk Office will function from the Town Hall in the city. The office of the erstwhile Tiruchi Taluk at Bharathidasan Salai in the city will be the office of Tiruchi West Taluk.

Thirty-three new posts have been created for the Tiruchi East Taluk and 17 for the Marungapuri taluk. R.Janani Soundarya has been posted as the first RDO of Srirangam. Sulochana and Ravichandran have been posted as Tahsildhars of Marungapuri and Tiruchi East respectively. Following the bifurcation of the Tiruchi taluk, wards 7 to 38 and 43 of the City Corporation will come under the Tiruchi East Taluk. Wards 39 to 42 and 44 to 57 and 60 will be under the jurisdiction of the Tiruchi West Taluk.

Please Wait while comments are loading...
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jul 24, 2017 7:59:23 AM | http://www.thehindu.com/news/cities/Tiruchirapalli/tiruchi-district-gets-one-more-revenue-division/article5141205.ece