Personnel of the Special Armed Police from Karnataka and Kerala have landed in the central zone, comprising eight districts, strengthening the security for elections.

The Karnataka and Kerala SAP personnel had been despatched to requisitioned and would be deployed at critical polling stations.

Police sources said that 14 companies of Karnataka SAP, four companies of Kerala SAP, and three companies of Central Industrial Security Force (CISF) would be deployed on the day of polling.

On Saturday, four companies of Kerala SAP arrived here, followed by Karnataka SAP contingent which arrived by a special train from Bijapur on Sunday afternoon. The SAP personnel were sent to different districts upon arrival.

They would be deployed in booths across Tiruchi, Tiruvarur, Thanjavur, Pudukottai, Nagapattinam, Perambalur, Ariyalur and Karur districts. CISF personnel would be posted at Tiruchi, Thanjavur and Ariyalur. Ex-servicemen, Home Guards, and the Tamil Nadu Special Police Youth Brigade would be involved in poll duty.

The sources said comprehensive security measures would be put in place in every district on the day of polling.

Encompassing six Lok Sabha constituencies – Tiruchi, Perambalur, Karur, Thanjavur, Nagapattinam, and Mayiladuthurai – the central zone alone accounts for more than 9,600 polling stations. A little over 1,650 of them have been identified as critical, according to police sources.