These personnel would be under the control of SPs concerned

Even as preparations for drawing up comprehensive security schemes for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections are on, the Railway Protection Special Force (RPSF) will be deployed in three districts in the State to assist the police in poll security duty.

The Tiruchi-headquartered RPSF fifth battalion at Khajamalai here will send four of its companies consisting of 500 officers and men for election duty.

Each team will be headed by a senior officer in the rank of an Assistant Commandant.

The RPSF Battalion in Tiruchi has “A”, “B”, “C”, “D”, and “E” companies besides a headquarters company.

The “B” company will be sent to Naugong in Assam while the “C” company will be deployed in Sivaganga district.

The “A” and “D” companies will be moved to Theni and Ariyalur districts respectively, railway security officials here told The Hindu.


Every company consisting of 125 RPSF officers and men would be equipped with weapons and other necessary paraphernalia required during their period of stay at the respective places.

The RPSF personnel would carry with them different types of arms, including AK-47 assault rifles, self-loading rifles, and pistols.

The “A”, “C”, and “D” companies which are currently stationed in Chennai, Bangalore, and Rourkela respectively are expected to arrive in Tiruchi on Thursday from where they would move to their duty deployment districts.

The officials said the Railway Board, New Delhi, had issued the order for deploying four companies of RPSF Tiruchi Battalion for poll security duty.

Logistic support

Transportation of the companies meant for Sivaganga, Theni, and Ariyalur districts would be made by the respective district police authorities and they would be under the control of the Superintendent of the Police concerned.

Prior to their actual deployment, the RPSF teams would be given a complete briefing pertaining to their places of deployment in the three districts by the police personnel of the respective districts.

The RPSF personnel would be deployed along with local police strength on the eve and on the day of polling.

There were in all 12 RPSF battalions situated across the country, including in Tiruchi, Maula Ali in Andhra Pradesh, New Jalpaiguri in West Bengal, Gorakhpur and Lucknow in Uttar Pradesh, Jagadharyi in Haryana, Chittaranjan in West Bengal, and Lumding in Assam.

The RPSF is a fully trained and well-equipped force which is readily available in reserve with the Ministry of Railway to assist the railway administration at a very short notice.

The officials said personnel of the Railway Protection Force attached to Southern Railway would be deployed for election duty.