Members of All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK), Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (MDMK), Communist Party of India (CPI)and Communist Party of India -Marxist (CPI-M) staged a demonstration near the railway station here in protest against establishment of a distillery at Vadaseri in Orathanadu taluk.

They also condemned the incident of lathi-charge by the police at Vadaseri village on Friday when public hearing on the proposed distillery was held on the premises of a factory. Durai Govindarajan, State president of the farmers' wing of AIADMK, led the agitation.

R. Vaidyalingam, former AIADMK Minister, Veera Kabilan, AIADMK MLA, M. Rangaswamy, Thanjavur north district secretary of AIADMK, R. Thirugnanam, district secretary of CPI, G. Neelamegam, district secretary of CPI (M), R. Arunachalam, district secretary of CPI (ML), and G. Udhayakumar, district president of MDMK participated.

Mr. Vaidyalingam said that officials should have held the public hearing at a common place rather than at the factory since it led to violence. The project would pollute the environment, he said