The second phase of training for polling officers in Thanjavur district will be held on October 11 and a final training session will be held on October 15, said K.Baskaran, Collector, here on Friday.

He appealed to the polling officers to adhere to the code of conduct and inform the candidates to follow the same.

Discussions regarding cent per cent preparations of ballot papers , distribution of forms for casting postal votes, convening meetings for candidates and agents, distribution of identity cards and vehicle passes , regulation campaign were held.

Basic amenities should be provided in polling booths for helping senior citizens, pregnant women and differently abled persons who come to cast their votes in the elections, the Collector said. Varadarajan, Project Officer, District Rural Development Agency; Deivanayagai, Project officer, Mahalir Thittam; Antony Swamy John Peter, Joint Registrar of Co-operatives; Municipal commissioners and police officers participated in the meeting, said a press release.


Poll observer M.Vijayaraj Kumar, who is also the Managing Director of TAHDCO, has appealed to polling officers to ensure free and fair polling in the local body elections on October 17 and 19.

He oversaw the training for polling officers held at the Tiruvarur Municipal office.

C.Munianathan, Collector, said that ballot papers will be used for election of village panchayat ward members, village panchayat presidents, panchayat union ward members and district panchayat council ward members. Officers should know how to open the ballot box and close it after votes are cast.

Mr.Vijayaraj Kumar also oversaw the training held at Nannilam Panchayat Union and training of officers for Peralam, Nannilam and Kodavasal town panchayats held at Nannilam, said a press release issued here on Friday.


The district administration has made all arrangements for the smooth conduct of local body elections, said Anu George, Collector.

In a release, the Collector said that the election would be held in two phases on October 17 and 19. Electronic voting machines would be utilised for the Ariyalur and Jayamkondam municipal elections besides the Udayarpalayam and Varadarajanpetti town panchayat elections.

Ballot papers would be utilised for the Ariyalur, Jayamkondam, T. Pazhur, Andimadam, Sendurai and Tirumanur. The votes would be counted at the government schools notified as counting centres.

The Collector said that the entire district has been divided into six zones and a total of 84 zonal officers have undergone a special training – 14 each at Ariyalur, Jayamkondam, T. Pazhur, Andimadam, Sendurai and Tirumanur.

Addressing the zonal officers at Ariyalur and Tirumanur, the Collector explained important guidelines stipulated in the model code of conduct. She advised them to get their doubts clarified immediately. Kannappan, Superintendent of Police and M.N. Poongodi, District Revenue Officer were present.


Fifty-nine government officers have been designated zonal officers to monitor the local body elections in Perambalur district, Collector Darez Ahmed has said.

Speaking at a meeting with zonal officers here on Friday, Mr.Ahmed said two zonal officers have been appointed for the Perambalur Municipality, and one each for the Kurumbalur, Arumbavur, Poolampadi and Lebbaikudikadu town panchayats. This apart, 10 zonal officers have been appointed to monitor the polls in Perambalur panchayat union, 15 in Veppanthattai and 14 each for Alathur and Veppur. The zonal officers would work in coordination with 59 designated police officers in the rank of sub-inspectors to monitor the poll process.