Several police personnel attached to Tiruchi city cast their postal votes on Saturday for the Tiruchi Parliamentary Constituency in the run up to the Lok Sabha elections. The district administration made arrangements to cast their postal votes at the City Police Office.

A nodal officer and revenue staff were deputed to hand over the forms and ballot papers to the police personnel.

Official sources said police personnel falling within the Tiruchi East and Tiruchi West Assembly segments cast their votes.

A total number of 421 police personnel, out of 571, cast their votes — an exercise which was supervised by the Collector and Returning Officer Jayashree Muralidharan and Commissioner of Police Shailesh Kumar Yadav.

Police personnel lined up at the City Police Office and cast their votes upon receiving the postal ballot paper and 13 A, B, and C forms.

Only those personnel who submitted the Form 12 application along with a facsimile copy of their EPIC card enabling officials to verify their names in the voters’ list were allowed to exercise their franchise. The exercise would continue on Sunday for those police personnel falling within the Srirangam and Tiruverambur Assembly segments.

The sources said postal vote exercise for personnel attached to Tiruchi district police would be held on April 21 at the District Police Office. The number of police personnel whose names figured in the list was 256.

The boxes containing postal ballots would be sent to the Collectorate and those police personnel who could not cast their votes on the three days could exercise their franchise at the Collectorate, the sources said.