Scrutiny of nomination papers filed for the Karur Lok Sabha constituency left four sets of papers rejected by the Returning Officer and District Collector S.Jayandhi on Monday.

The nomination papers of standby candidates of the AIADMK, the DMK, and the DMDK were among those rejected by the officials.

The papers of the AIADMK standby candidate Ariyoor Subramanian, DMK’s C.Nallathambi, DMDK’s Kodimalar, and one of the two nomination papers submitted by Manee Shankar of Rashtriya Samaj Paksha were rejected.

With this, 29 sets of nominations have been accepted and the final picture would emerge only on Tuesday when withdrawals are permitted. Apart from Ms.Jayandhi, Election Observer S.J.Haider, and District Revenue Officer M.Aruna, besides representatives of recognised political parties were present during the scrutiny.

PERAMBALUR: Nominations of five candidates who had submitted their papers to contest from the Perambalur Parliamentary constituency were rejected during the scrutiny of applications here on Monday.

The papers of the DMK, the AIADMK, the Congress, and the Indiya Jananayaka Katchi candidates and their dummies were accepted after the scrutiny done in the presence of Collector and Returning Officer Darez Ahamed, general observer Sanjay Kumar, and representatives of political parties and independents. Official sources said nominations of five independents were rejected while those of 25 others were accepted. This includes the candidates of the DMK, the AIADMK, the Congress and the IJK as well as their dummies. The sources said as the papers of the main candidates of the four parties were accepted, their dummy candidates would automatically be out of the race. In all, 30 papers were filed and 21 had been accepted.

Seemanur Prabhu (DMK), R. P. Marutharaja (AIADMK), M. Rajasekaran (Congress), and T.R. Pachamuthu (IJK) are the four main contestants from the constituency that encompasses six Assembly segments — Lalgudi, Perambalur (reserved), Manachanallur, Musiri, Thuraiyur (reserved), and Kulithalai.