The Manithaneya Makkal Katchi (MMK) will be fielding its candidate in Mayiladuthurai Lok Sabha constituency for the second consecutive time.

The MMK has been allotted the Mayiladuthurai constituency in the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam-led alliance during the talks held in Chennai on Tuesday.

The MMK during its maiden attempt in the Lok Sabha elections 2009, held shortly after the launch of the party, fielded its candidates in four constituencies – Mayiladuthurai, Central Chennai, Ramanathapuram, and Pollachi. The MMK was not in alliance with any other party then.

M.H.Jawahirullah, the then party president, was in the fray in Mayiladuthurai constituency, while the party fielded other senior leaders in the other three constituencies. Prof. Jawahirullah polled 19,814 votes to finish fourth behind the AIADMK(O.S.Manian), the Congress (Mani Shanker Aiyar), and the DMDK nominees.