3-member committees formed with Revenue Divisional Officers and officers from the Directorate of Industrial Safety and Health

Three-member committees formed with Revenue Divisional Officers, and officers from the Directorate of Industrial Safety and Health started the inspection of 31 firecracker units in Thanjavur district on Thursday.

The committees have been formed by District Collector N.Subbaiyan in pursuant to the direction given by R.Venugopal, Controller of Explosives, Head Office, Sivakasi, following the fire accident at a cracker unit at Ozhugachery village near Anaikarai near Kumbakonam on November 1. Nine persons were killed in the accident and five others were injured.

On Thursday, in Thanjavur division, the three-member committee comprising Devadoss Bose, Revenue Divisional Officer of Thanjavur, C.Poonguzhali, Deputy Director, Industrial Safety and Health, and inspector of police from Vallam inspected Saraswathi Fire Works at Soorakottai, Venkatesh Fire Works at Marunkulam, Sastha Fire Works at Pillaiyarnatham, Visal Fireworks at Sengipatti, and CK Fire Works at Thandankorai.

The committee looked into whether there were any violations of the provisions of the Explosives Act and Factories Act.

The committees would submit a report to Collector N.Subbaiyan based on which the Collector would decide on whether to continue the licence or not.

Committees headed by RDO, Pattukottai, and RDO, Kumbakonam, in Kumbakonam division would inspect the cracker units.