AIADMK candidate P. Kumar declares assets at Rs. 1.46 crore, while DMK candidate Mu. Anbazhagan declares assets totalling Rs. 3.62 crore (including a commercial building at K.K. Nagar).

Five candidates, including P. Kumar of the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam, and Mu. Anbazhagan of the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam, filed their nominations for the Tiruchi Lok Sabha constituency here on Tuesday.

Two Independents and a DMK dummy filed their nominations.

Mr. Kumar, who is seeking re-election, has declared movable assets worth Rs. 36.27 lakh, including a car worth Rs. 22 lakh, and immovable assets worth Rs. 1.10 crore, including 2.24 hectares of agricultural land at Punalkulam village in Gandharvakottai in Pudukottai district. He had liabilities to the tune of Rs. 19.17 lakh, including a housing loan of Rs.18.30 lakhs.

Mr. Kumar declared movable assets worth Rs.18.95 lakhs and immovable assets to the tune of Rs.20 lakhs in his spouse S. Gayathri’s name.

During the previous election, Mr. Kumar had declared assets worth about Rs. 46 lakh in his name and about Rs. 7 lakh in the name of his wife. No criminal case was pending against him, Mr. Kumar said in his affidavit.

Mr. Anbazhagan declared movable assets worth Rs. 41.20 lakh and immovable assets worth Rs. 3.21 crore, including a commercial building at K.K. Nagar in the city, whose sale agreement value was Rs. 3.06 crore. His wife A. Chithra had movable assets worth Rs. 52.11 lakh and immovable assets worth Rs. 58.80 lakh.

Mr. Anbazhagan had liabilities to the tune of Rs. 42.63 lakh under his name and his wife to the extent of Rs. 87 lakh.

Mr. Anbazahgan had listed eight cases, including one filed by the Land Grabbing Special Cell. Of the eight cases, action had been dropped in one case and another quashed by the Madurai Bench of the Madras High Court, he said. He has three pending cases booked under the Tamil Nadu Open Place Disfigurement Act.

Earlier, the candidates from the rival political parties came in processions with their respective supporters to file their nominations before District Collector and Returning Officer Jayashree Muralidharan.

Mr. Kumar was accompanied by Ministers N. Subramanian and C. Vijaya Baskar, chief whip R. Manohar, and M. Paranjothi, MLA, while filing nomination.

The former Transport Minister K.N. Nehru, party Pudukottai district secretary Periannan Arasu and local leaders of alliance parties were present when Mr. Anbazhagan filed his papers.

Two Independents, A. Lawrence and M. Mohandass, filed their nominations for the constituency. M. Mathivanan filed his nomination papers as the DMK dummy.