Twenty eight members of the Thanjavur District Panchayat Council assumed charge at a function at Pangal Building, here on Tuesday.

K.Baskaran, Collector, administered oath to senior most ward councillor Thavamani Malaiyappan (ward number 26), who in turn administered the oath to the other 27 ward council members.

AIADMK won 27 wards while DMK won one. Those who took the oath included S.Viswaatha, C.Ilavarasi, C.Malarkodi, Manoharan, Kuzhandaivelu, Sundarajan, Tamil Selvi, Navaneetham, M.Rehman, and Amutha Rani.

Eighteen members of the Tiruvaur District Panchayat Council were administered oath by C.Muniyanthan, Collector.

N.Subramanian, project officer, District Rural Development Agency (DRDA), and S.Neelakantan, PA to Collector, participated.


Elected representatives of the Nagapattinam municipality, district panchayat council and other local bodies assumed office. Members of the district panchayat council assumed charge in the presence of Fisheries Minister K.A.Jayapal.

Collector T.Munusamy administered oath of office to senior member V.Ponnaiyan, who in turn administered the oath to the other members.

Elected representatives of the Perambalur, Ariyalur and Jayamkondam municipality, district panchayats and other local bodies in Perambalur and Ariyalur district took the oath at the respective offices of the local bodies.


All the 22 councillors of the district panchayat council took charge.

B. Maheswari, Collector, invited senior councillor V.C. Ramaiah to assume office.

Later, he administered the oath of office to 21 councillors, including eight women.

Of the 22 councillors, 20 won on the AIADMK ticket and two on the DMK.

The Collector expressed her wishes to the councillors.